MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT
 
Cohiba (Cuba) Esplendido Cigar Reviews
Below are the cigar reviews for the Cohiba (Cuba) Esplendido. If you would like to add your own personal cigar review for the Cohiba (Cuba) Esplendido please click here.


Cigar Vitals


Cohiba (Cuba) Cigars
  Esplendido       

Current Rating
8.70

Size: 7 x 47
Shape: Churchill
Wrapper: Cuba
Filler: Cuba
Binder: Cuba
MSRP: 0.00
Total Reviews: 127
Average Rating: 8.70 out of a possible 10
Average Price: 17.84
Discontinued: No
Notes:

Quick Rating
87.5% of voters like the Cohiba (Cuba) - Esplendido
Vote Now! This cigar SMOKES! (7) This cigar is a DUD. (1)

Page 5 of 26 :: PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE

"Restored from dryness"

Review by: Kalidor Ironcrest
Review Date: 01/19/2007
Rating: 7.5
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: When I started business school in September 2003, I learned that one of my teammates had a box of Cohiba Esplendidos that she bought in Cuba in 2002 but she did not have a humidor. It was my idea to attempt to restore them so they could be a great smoke to celebrate our graduation 18 months later. The good news I was able to do so. I stored them in a desktop humidor and rotated them every 3 months. They generated the plume from the crystallization of the oils, which is a sign of well aging. It was a lot of fun to produce the restored cigars upon our graduation. Even though I was able to restore them, I doubt if they were in prime smoking condition. I took that in consideration when scoring this fine cigar.

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (0) No (1)

"Even Better With Age"

Review by: icehog3
Review Date: 12/29/2006
Rating: 8.17
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: About a year ago I ranked an '02 Esplendido as the best Cohiba I had ever smoked. Tonight I had the privilege of smoking a '95 courtesy of a herf buddy, and it blew the doors off the others I've smoked. That garssy Cohiba profile was still there, but the youth in the cigar was gone and replaced by smoother, deeper flavor and a better punch. A tad tight on the draw but not enough to detract from the outstanding flavors, and a razor sharp burn that stayed straight right to the nub. An outstandng cigar, undoubtedly the best Cohiba I ever smoked ...really!

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (0) No (0)

"A beauty"

Review by: wayne king
Review Date: 11/13/2006
Rating: 9.67
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: The wrapper was smooth and almost completely free of visible veins on the surface, which is coloured with a golden-tan shade and a slightly darker bunching of filler leaves at the foot of the cigar. Clipping the opposite end revealed the same familiar pattern of “bunched” filler leaves at the head with immediately revealed the same honey-like, manure aroma of fine quality Cuban tobacco. Drawing through the cigar before lighting it produced a delightful flavour of creamy, rich tobacco with a barely detectable hint of spice. After evenly heating the foot of the cigar, I placed it in between my lips to savour that first draw of toasted tobacco … no bitterness, no bite … just a smooth, creamy flavour reminiscent of the Cohiba blend. For such a young cigar, I expected a slight bitterness at the start; however, from the first to the last draw, I found nothing but pleasant, rich flavors with subtle complexities as the flavors shifted ever so slightly from buttery to almost sweet, bringing back memories of the butter-cream icing spice cakes my mother used to bake for my birthday each year. The cigar burned perfectly with a wonderful draw, producing mouthful after mouthful of soft, balanced flavors. The dark gray ash was highlighted with pale white streaks, as the first fragment dropped off after about two to three inches. Although the underlying creamy flavors continued to develop throughout the entire cigar, subtle flavour changes became apparent at every inch or two. Toasted tobacco flavors and a mild nuttiness appeared and disappeared as the smoke entered my mouth and left through my nostrils.. I fully understand how the Cohiba Esplendido is one of the most sought after cigars in the world. As delightful as this cigar was at such an early age, I can only imagine how sublime it will be after several years of aging. If you have never tried one of these fabulous cigars, I encourage you to try one when the opportunity arises. You will not be disappointed when you smoke one of these

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (0) No (0)

"A Flagship Smoke"

Review by: Gryphon
Review Date: 11/01/2006
Rating: 9.17
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: The stick I smoked was a gift, shared from a box that had about 2 years humidor aging. Lovely condition. I'm not going to compare this smoke. Its a refined, balanced and graceful way to experience a cigar. possibly one of the best I have ever had. Its costly but not expensive. Truly a reference smoke, and one that I will be treating myself to more often.

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (0) No (0)

"Real niiiiccce!"

Review by: erOksta
Review Date: 10/29/2006
Rating: 9.17
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: I had three of these a couple years ago but my tastes hadn't been refined yet and I couldn't tell you with certainty how they were. About a month ago an acquaintance of mine went to Aruba for a mini vaca. He brought home a couple Montys and one of these. I got first pick and since I don't come across these too often, I grabbed it up. I offered to reimburse him the 7 dollars he paid for it but he declined respectfully. I thanked him and put it away when I got home. I was hesitant to be excited because since he had only paid 7 bones for it, I was sure it was a fakie. I looked closely and the label seemed legit. Now I was still hesitant because of the bad luck I've had with supposed "top notch" cigars. I wanted so bad for it to own up to the hype Cubans receive. I sat on it for a month and today seemed like the right day to bust it out. It felt a little dry and I was concerned that I lost flavor due to improper storage but all those concerns were about to go away. I know some people like to have scotch or coffee while enjoying a smoke but often I have a tall glass of room temperature water next to me. It cleans my palette nicely and I just like water. Anyway, I lit it right after the steelers kickoff. I gently got it burning how I like and sat back, waiting my way through the first inch before evaluating. I was impressed with it already. I couldn't place the tastes quite yet so I kept smoking. I saw another review that claimed a "grassy" taste but I would venture to say it was more like sweet celery. I could taste salt as well. I was really diggin' the balance of salt and sweet. (Almost like light cane sugar) The ash was white (if anyone cares) and if I wouldn't have bumped my hand in excitement due to the game I was watching, the ash would've reached 3 inches before falling off. By that time The flavor had added nuts and cream to the recipe. That's pretty much how the whole thing smoked and I'm glad because it was a true treat. The burn was even with a medium sweet finish. It lasted close to 2 hours. I'm glad I smoked it so I can add my 2 cents and agree with others about Cubans. (At least my limited experience.) First impressions last and I expect nothing less from my next ones.

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (5) No (6)


Page 5 of 26 :: PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE
Go To Page: [ 1 ][ 2 ][ 3 ][ 4 ][ 5 ][ 6 ][ 7 ][ 8 ][ 9 ][ 10 ][ 11 ][ 12 ][ 13 ][ 14 ][ 15 ][ 16 ][ 17 ][ 18 ][ 19 ][ 20 ][ 21 ][ 22 ][ 23 ][ 24 ][ 25 ][ 26 ]

Quick Rating
87.5% of voters like the Cohiba (Cuba) - Esplendido
Vote Now! This cigar SMOKES! (7) This cigar is a DUD. (1)



Add A Review Of This Cigar
Just fill out the form below to create a rating and review of this cigar. Once you submit your review you cannot change it.
Please check your spelling and information before clicking the "Submit Your Review" button.


Reviewer Name


WARNING - YOU ARE NOT LOGGED IN!

If you wish for this review to be credited to your account name and viewable in the 'Reviews by user' report, then you must have an account with Puff.com and be logged in while submitting the review. To create an account, Click Here. To LOG IN, use the login form on the right.


Review Title
(A couple word summary of your review...)
Review Comments
Price Paid $ (Approx. price paid per cigar.)
Appearance  (1 to 10)
Construction  (1 to 10)          10 = Perfect Smoke
Flavor  (1 to 10)          5 = About Average
Value  (1 to 10)          1 = Not Worth It
Overall Smoking Experience  (1 to 10)
Spam Protection
   Image Text:

      



   


Sign Up to our
GET IT NOW!






 

Member Cigar Reviews | Staff Cigar Reviews | Cigar Videos | One on One Interviews | Cigar News | Puffcast | Cigar Forums | Lifestyle | Partners | Contact
© 2015 by Caputo Media, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms of Service - Privacy Policy - Ad Blockers Suck! Why?


Puff.com Daily Digest

Thank you for your interest in the Puff.com Daily Digest. Get notified of all new content on Puff.com in our free Daily Digest. To subscribe, enter your email address below and click the subscribe button.


Email Address:


Email will come from "donotreply@caputomedia.com". Please whitelist this email address.

Cancel and Return to page