MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT
 
Montecristo (Cuba) No. 5 Cigar Reviews
Below are the cigar reviews for the Montecristo (Cuba) No. 5. If you would like to add your own personal cigar review for the Montecristo (Cuba) No. 5 please click here.


Cigar Vitals


Montecristo (Cuba) Cigars
  No. 5       

Current Rating
8.12

Size: 4 x 40
Shape: Petit Corona
Wrapper: Cuba
Filler: Cuba
Binder: Cuba
MSRP: 0.00
Total Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.12 out of a possible 10
Average Price: 7.02
Discontinued: No
Notes:

Quick Rating
66.7% of voters like the Montecristo (Cuba) - No. 5
Vote Now! This cigar SMOKES! (6) This cigar is a DUD. (3)

Page 2 of 8 :: PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE

"Epic minuto!"

Review by: Cuban Beat!
Review Date: 01/29/2009
Rating: 8.4
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: Of the extensive list of cuban brands I've enjoyed (Bolivar, Cuaba, Diplomaticos, Fonseca, H. Upmann, Hoyo De Monterrey, Juan Lopez, Partagas, Punch, Rafeal Gonzoles, Ramone Allones, Romeo Y Julieta, San Cristobal, St. Luis Rey, Sancho Panza)...this was my first Montecristo...why'd I wait so long?!? The minimally small veined wrapper was velvety, with a thin layer of bloom...was soft in the hand, draw was perfect! not plugged by any means, but slow burning, a 30 minute journey for me, and I typically smoke faster than most...nice pre-light effects, and no initial phase (the initial phase generally is not as enjoyable, it is the phase that occurs while waiting for the flavors to develop, no wait here!) jumped right in to a Heavily creamed coffee with hazlenut flavor that blew my mind, with a rich aroma to match...quality coffee, quality cream...effortlessly transitioned into a creamier woody 2cnd 3rd with floral accents in the aroma...and a grandios finnish with some spice, and all of the previously mentioned nuances melding together in perfect harmony...this truly impressive cigar experience does not end with the finnish...please take my recommendations on getting a glass of 2% or whole milk to accompany the fantastic aftertaste...I'm sipping a glass right now, and if blindfolded I would swear it was a nice hazlenut mocha latte! Highly recommend with 2-3 years age...very satisfying, I'd say a light-medium strength, but moderately full flavor.

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (4) No (3)

"Escellent!"

Review by: oc2noho
Review Date: 06/03/2008
Rating: 9.5
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: This is a phenomenal little smoke. Great for morning times or as a quickie before bed, you really can't go wong with a No. 5! This is a Perla/Tres Petit Corona, so comparing it to any of the others in Monty's Numbered line is like apples to oranges. Construction, appearance & burn are excellent, spicey-cocoa flavor, definite winner!!

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (7) No (7)

"Better"

Review by: Travis
Review Date: 05/13/2008
Rating: 7.5
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: This was the second of two of these sticks I received about a year ago. The age was good for this cigar because I enjoyed it quite a bit more than the last one, (4-1-07). That being said, I still did not find this to be a noteworthy cigar. It had a nice leathery flavor at times, but was largely masked by a slight roughness. It was not particularly harsh, but its brawny overtones did not mesh well with its core notes. It could have been a lot better - maybe more age would have done the trick. In short, if you're in the market for a demi-corona, these will do, but reach for a Bolivar Coronas Junior or a SCDH El Principe first.

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (7) No (5)

"Let It Be..."

Review by: enviro-crusader
Review Date: 01/15/2008
Rating: 7.83
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: My experience with these is that they can be good little cigars if you give them some age in your humi. I bought a box of these over a year ago and the first few of them that I had in the months immediately following were very disappointing. So much so that I started giving them away to my friends that are not cigar smokers when they wanted to join in the smoking activities at parties. I wanted them out to make room for stuff I like. However, about half way through the box I decided that I was not going to convince any of my friends to become cigar afficionados by giving them harsh, crappy smokes and I promptly forgot about them for 8 months. I was looking for a quick burn last month and decided to give them another try. Much to my surprise, they have turned out rather nice with less than a year's age. Although they still burn fairly hot due to their size, they have very nice, complex flavor and their relative value in my humidor has skyrocketed. I wish I had not been so quick to judge the first half of the box. It probably goes without saying that the construction and appearance are very good. My advice, if you pick up a box of #5s, is to let them sit for at least 6 months before even trying one.

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (4) No (8)

"Not bad!"

Review by: Rodni C
Review Date: 01/05/2008
Rating: 7.17
Criteria 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Appearance
Construction
Flavor
Value
Overall Experience

Review Notes: The cigar is small! packed with flavors. Leathery and earthy at first then one can feel the pepper on the Pallet. Good smoke.

Does this reviewer know this cigar? Yes (9) No (6)


Page 2 of 8 :: PREVIOUS PAGE | NEXT PAGE
Go To Page: [ 1 ][ 2 ][ 3 ][ 4 ][ 5 ][ 6 ][ 7 ][ 8 ]

Quick Rating
66.7% of voters like the Montecristo (Cuba) - No. 5
Vote Now! This cigar SMOKES! (6) This cigar is a DUD. (3)



Add A Review Of This Cigar
Just fill out the form below to create a rating and review of this cigar. Once you submit your review you cannot change it.
Please check your spelling and information before clicking the "Submit Your Review" button.


Reviewer Name


WARNING - YOU ARE NOT LOGGED IN!

If you wish for this review to be credited to your account name and viewable in the 'Reviews by user' report, then you must have an account with Puff.com and be logged in while submitting the review. To create an account, Click Here. To LOG IN, use the login form on the right.


Review Title
(A couple word summary of your review...)
Review Comments
Price Paid $ (Approx. price paid per cigar.)
Appearance  (1 to 10)
Construction  (1 to 10)          10 = Perfect Smoke
Flavor  (1 to 10)          5 = About Average
Value  (1 to 10)          1 = Not Worth It
Overall Smoking Experience  (1 to 10)
Spam Protection
   Image Text:

      



   


Sign Up to our
GET IT NOW!






 

Member Cigar Reviews | Staff Cigar Reviews | Cigar Videos | One on One Interviews | Cigar News | Puffcast | Cigar Forums | Lifestyle | Partners | Contact
© 2015 by Caputo Media, LLC. All rights reserved.
Terms of Service - Privacy Policy - Ad Blockers Suck! Why?


Puff.com Daily Digest

Thank you for your interest in the Puff.com Daily Digest. Get notified of all new content on Puff.com in our free Daily Digest. To subscribe, enter your email address below and click the subscribe button.


Email Address:


Email will come from "donotreply@caputomedia.com". Please whitelist this email address.

Cancel and Return to page