|
|
![]() |
|
||||||
| CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | OUR TWO CENTS BLOGS | PUFFCAST | CIGAR FORUMS | PUFF LIFESTYLE | CONTACT |
| ||||||
This is a discussion on Dupont on Ebay - real or fake? within the Cigar Accessory Questions forums, part of the Cigar Accessory Discussion category; Not sure if anyone can tell by the listing but would like some feedback before I get serious with bidding. ...
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 |
|
Alpha Puffer Fish
|
Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
Not sure if anyone can tell by the listing but would like some feedback before I get serious with bidding. I have always really liked this Gatsby model. Also is it true that this version of the Gatsby is discontinued? Thanks for any help.
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=320174713003 |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Elder Jungle Leader - Not
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
While it's always hard to tell - I would not have a problem bidding on that lighter. He does have a 14 day money back - good ratings - etc.
Nice looking lighter there - heck I'd like the have that one. Ron |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
Alpha Puffer Fish
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
Thanks for the input!!! But, hopefully I didn't make a mistake posting this???? Stay away!!!
|
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
Elder Puffer Fish Leader
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
I'd venture to say it's real. I am not much for that model with the rubber crap, but it does have the cigar tip which is huge if you ware using it for cigars.
There are so many fake Duponts out there, I would be scared buying one online unless they seller has a B&M or it's an older used one.
__________________
Do you speak Campagnolo - F1- Alfa Romeo - IWC - Robiola? |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
Country Gentleman
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
I doubt it's actually brushed palladium, but it does look to be genuine. Palladium prices are outrageous and for a piece a quarter of that size, would be much more than $325. The warranty card is what could authenticate it, but I don't see a pic of that.
Another good thing going for the guy is that he is selling the Opus X Dupont. There is not a replica of one of those yet, so he seems legit. |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
Clubstogies Aristocrat
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
To me they are fake I would buy from a reputable dealer. Especially the price on the opus x one.
__________________
JOEY |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
Elder Puffer Fish Leader
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
Only discrepancy I see in the auction is model 18795 is the lighter with blue accents, model 18796 is the lighter with green accents.
http://www.stdupontlighters.com/st_d...y_lighters.htm |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Evolving Lead Puffer Fish
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
I have bought 2 Dupont diamond plates off of ebay from different sellers and both of them turned out to be fake. Each seller had great feedback and decent size inventory on ebay.
buyer beware ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
Alpha Puffer Fish
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#10 | |
|
Country Gentleman
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
Quote:
The rep companies don't have the Opus X model one. Now I am not saying the guy couldn't be posting a picture of one then send something else, but he has a good number of feedback and also gives a warranty. If you are at all suspicious, call the guy. He gave his number and said I quote "I WILL DO WHATEVER IT TAKES TO PROVE MY CREDIBILITY AND AUTHENTICITY TO YOU THE BIDDER." |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
Evolving Lead Puffer Fish
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
$14 for USPS Priority shipping?
You have to wonder. If a guy will gouge you for shipping, what kind of guy are you dealing with?
__________________
They call it menopause because MAD COW was taken.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 | |
|
Country Gentleman
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
Quote:
Have you ever held a Dupont lighter? It's weight alone would gardner that. But maybe that includes insurance and packing supplies?? Plus gas to run it out to the post office? I wouldn't think $14 was gouging. Now $20 or above yeah. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#13 |
|
Alpha Puffer Fish
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
Well I got outbid...which is good because I really did not want the headache to verify authenticity.
But what really bites my ass is that I was outbid by someone who is turning around and selling these for $150-$200 more than the other seller. Take a look at the original seller's feedback - then take a look at bg gear (http://stores.ebay.com/bg-gear-co) who also runs a couple of other non-ebay websites. So I would expect to see that lighter for sale in a 3-10 days for about $200 more. Makes me sick to know I have bought something from this bastage in the past. Some will call me an anti-consumerist - but I will stick with those vendors that give a crap about this hobby. |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
Ann Coulter's Cabana Boy
|
Re: Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
Quote:
Jeez, Jeff, welcome to the free market! If you don't like it, why don't you just pack your bags and move to... er... well...
__________________
"The best argument against democracy is a five minute conversation with the average voter." ~Winston Churchill |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
Young Puffer Fish
|
I have Ligne 1, Ligne 2 and Gatsby all at 30% off and we are anS.T. Dupont Dealer. call or come by www.mackscigars.com |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Tags |
| dupont , ebay , fake , real |
![]() |
||
Dupont on Ebay - real or fake?
|
||
| Thread Tools | |
|
|