Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

What beer (or beer style) goes with what cigar?

This is a discussion on What beer (or beer style) goes with what cigar? within the Food, Wine, & Spirits Forum forums, part of the Non Cigar Related Specialty Forums category; I am a novice smoker and would like some thoughts as to, what type of beer goes well with what ...

Puffer Fish with some spikes

Question What beer (or beer style) goes with what cigar?

I am a novice smoker and would like some thoughts as to, what type of beer goes well with what cigar?
    I have a Wee Heavy Scottish Ale, A good Irish Stout, a very potent Porter,
    and a Pale Ale. All in need of the proper smoke.
    Any ideas?
    Shark
    My mind is like an old trap, rusty and lible to spring shut without warning.

Leading Puffer Fish

Re: What beer (or beer style) goes with what cigar?

Smoke what you enjoy.

Drink with it what you enjoy.

That's all that matters.

There are at least as many answers to your question as there are cigars and beers.

He who types in the dark Andyman's Avatar

I actually prefer coffee or a Port -

I think the rule of thumb is to match your drink with the cigar in terms of strength.. So don't pair up a Heavy beer with a connecticut shade wrapped cigar. it will overpower the cigar.

Puffer Fish with some spikes Fat Old Sun's Avatar

This is truly a glorious opportunity.

The only way to be sure, is to drink and smoke them in as many combinations as you can. Once you have accomplished this, it is necessary to then repeat the process to rule out any one-off abnormalities. As daunting a task as this may seem, the quality of your findings, the integrity of your research, and the application of scientific method itself, are all dependent on you sampling as many beers and cigars as you possibly can.