Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

I hate beer. Can you help me change?

This is a discussion on I hate beer. Can you help me change? within the Food, Wine, & Spirits Forum forums, part of the Non Cigar Related Specialty Forums category; Hey guys, i'm relatively new to alcohol drinking and have been trying out various types and brands for the last ...

I hate beer. Can you help me change?

Hey guys, i'm relatively new to alcohol drinking and have been trying out various types and brands for the last couple of weeks. Over this period i've tried quite a few beers and ales and, if i'm honest, they make me want to throw up.

I understand that all beer is not for everyone but I believe most people have a beer that they enjoy that doesn't just taste like stale liquid to them.

Any tips or advice on how to enjoy beer? Any recommendations on what beers to drink?

Evolving Lead Puffer Fish anthony d's Avatar

Re: I hate beer. Can you help me change?

Well, first off, what have you been drinking? What brands didn't you like? What flavors of them didn't you like?

Beer choice is similar to cigar choice, in the fact that everyone is gonna like different things.

For me, I like heavier, darker, malty, high-abv beers, like Stone Brewery's Double Bastard, Dogfish Head's Midas Touch, Brooklyn Lager, etc... Other people like IPA's, which are very hoppy, which I cannot stand. To me most IPA's taste like a skunked Heinekin. The only IPA I will drink is Dogfish Head's 120 minute IPA, and that is only because it is anywhere from 18%-20%abv.
    Hmm...

Young Puffer Fish

I was the exact same way in undergrad. Frankly, my method was to just find a light beer I could handle, and drink a ton of it. Now I enjoy almost every type of beer.

I started out on really easy drinking beer, Rolling Rock and Coors Light.