The above video goes away if you are a member and logged in, so log in now!
 

CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | OUR TWO CENTS BLOGS | PUFFCAST | CIGAR FORUMS | PUFF LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

Puff Cigar Discussion Forums

Go Back   Puff Cigar Discussion Forums > The Cigar Lounges at Puff > General Cigar Discussion

Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

This is a discussion on Spam from Cheaphumidors.com? within the General Cigar Discussion forums, part of the The Cigar Lounges at Puff category; Is anyone else is getting this sort of spam? In the last two days I have recieved unsolicited mail from ...

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-04-2007, 12:22 PM   #1
...

physiognomy's Profile Maze Game Champion Sonic Champion
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,406
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 1178
physiognomy's Icons
 
Angry Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

Is anyone else is getting this sort of spam? In the last two days I have recieved unsolicited mail from this company and Humidors4less.com... This is pretty annoying & I'm wondering if these companies are cigarsinternational.com subsidiaries? If this is the case I will definitely be reconsidering any future purchases...


Subject RESPONSE REQUIRED: Confirm your request for information from book@aweber.com

We received your request for information from the book
group. Before we begin sending you the information you
requested, we want to be certain we have your permission.
-----------------------------------------------------------
CONFIRM BY VISITING THE LINK BELOW:

http://www.aweber.com/z/c/?jyszctwub...mq7ctytg4=6978

Click the link above to give us permission to send you
information. It's fast and easy! If you cannot click the
full URL above, please copy and paste it into your web
browser.
-----------------------------------------------------------
If you do not want to subscribe, simply ignore this message.

Thank You,
Cheaphumidors.com

Cheaphumidors.com
5602 56th Commerce Park Blvd
Tampa, FL 33610

Request generated by:
IP: 72.91.34.82
Date: June 4, 2007 08:10 EDT
physiognomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:33 PM   #2
Evolving Lead Puffer Fish
 
Pete's Avatar

Pete's Profile
Join Date: Feb 2007
City: On CS.
Posts: 608
Gameroom cash: $275
Ring Gauge: 121
Pete's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

I've ordered from them via Amazon, and had no problems with spam coming my way...
__________________

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokin5 View Post
Give your friend your best cigar. You'll have lots of fine future smokes coming to you if you do.
Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:36 PM   #3
Roll Tide, Roll!!!!
 
Tidefan73's Avatar

Tidefan73's Profile
Join Date: May 2007
City: On the baseball diamond in VA!!!
Posts: 1,728
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 562
Tidefan73's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

For some reason I doubt its coming directly from Cheaphumidors directly. IP address doesn't make sense, but then again, what do I know?
__________________



[SIZE=4][/SIZE]
Tidefan73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:39 PM   #4
...

physiognomy's Profile Maze Game Champion Sonic Champion
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,406
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 1178
physiognomy's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

The thing that bugs me a little is that I have never ordered from either of these companies or (to my recollection) given out the particular address they are using...
physiognomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:41 PM   #5
Full grown Puffer Fish
 
andy_mccabe501's Avatar

andy_mccabe501's Profile
Join Date: Oct 2006
City: Cambridge, England
Posts: 382
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 55
andy_mccabe501's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

could always be someone falsely using their name?

andy
__________________
http://img233.imageshack.us/img233/4334/andyet7.gif
andy_mccabe501 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 12:42 PM   #6
No longer a community member.

newcigarz's Profile
Join Date: Feb 2007
City: Put it in the can
Posts: 6,203
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 13738
newcigarz's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tidefan73 View Post
For some reason I doubt its coming directly from Cheaphumidors directly. IP address doesn't make sense, but then again, what do I know?
Doens't make sense
newcigarz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 01:05 PM   #7
Puffer Fish with many spikes
 
xxwaldoxx's Avatar

xxwaldoxx's Profile
Join Date: Apr 2006
City: Reading, PA
Posts: 912
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 241
xxwaldoxx's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

I got a piece of spam from Cheap Humidors as well. It happened right after I signed up for the free "E-Book" that pops up on the main page.

I just glanced through the book and it looks interesting, but not interesting enough to deal with spam.
__________________

Walt White
xxwaldoxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 01:33 PM   #8
Huge Puffer Fish packed with spikes
 
MeNimbus's Avatar

MeNimbus's Profile
Join Date: Dec 2006
City: ...
Posts: 2,077
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 1532
MeNimbus's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

Cheaphumidors.com sell their products on Amazon.com as well. Order through Amazon and you should not receive any spam. I find the customer service at Cheaphumidors.com to be lacking.
__________________
[SIZE="2"]Q('.'Q) JIAN (G-On) ^_^´[/SIZE]
MeNimbus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 01:41 PM   #9
Yeah that's the ticket
 
cman78's Avatar

cman78's Profile
Join Date: May 2007
City: STL MO
Posts: 1,135
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 553
cman78's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

If you live inside the US you can request they remove you from their mailling list. There is usually an email address on the SPAM that you can reply to. Remind them that according to the CAN-SPAM act they have to remove you or you can report them. Good luck finding out how they got your email. One thing you could do is contact CI and ask them if they do business with either of these comapnies.
__________________
No! It is I who fooled you! For I am dead.. and merely acting alive!
cman78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 02:30 PM   #10
...

physiognomy's Profile Maze Game Champion Sonic Champion
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,406
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 1178
physiognomy's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

Thanks for the comments/advice... I just recieved my 2nd email (similar to one quoted above) a few minutes ago & clicked on the 'unsubscribe' link... I'm usually wary of doing this as I don't know if it will just lead to more spam?
physiognomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 02:37 PM   #11
Puffer Fish with many spikes
 
jdean33442's Avatar

jdean33442's Profile
Join Date: May 2007
City: Orange County, CA
Posts: 761
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 48
jdean33442's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

This looks like an unsophisticated phishing scam to me. Why do you have to go to www.awebar.com if www.cheaphumidors.com exists?

I think this is some asshat using a list he obtained through whatever reasons and is trying to confirm who's out there by using cheaphumidors.com's name.

I think you just signed up for more spam by clicking unsubscribe.
jdean33442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 02:43 PM   #12
Puffer Fish with many spikes
 
jdean33442's Avatar

jdean33442's Profile
Join Date: May 2007
City: Orange County, CA
Posts: 761
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 48
jdean33442's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

Ok, I just looked up the internet registration on both sites and they don't appear to be related from a cursory inspection.

The aweber.com website is listed basically as a spam hub though. Email trafficking.

Why don't you call or email them and asked how you were added to their mailing list?

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR><TD> </TD><TD>Administrative Contact , Technical Contact : </TD><TD colSpan=3> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD colSpan=4>AWEBER SYSTEMS, INC. </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD colSpan=4>tom@aweber.com </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD colSpan=4>2865 S. Eagle Rd. #338</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD colSpan=4>Newtown, PA 18940-1560 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD colSpan=4>US </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD colSpan=4>Phone: 215-322-2408 </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD><TD colSpan=4>Fax: 215-701-8733 </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
jdean33442 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2007, 02:48 PM   #13
...

physiognomy's Profile Maze Game Champion Sonic Champion
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,406
Gameroom cash: $250
Ring Gauge: 1178
physiognomy's Icons
 
Re: Spam from Cheaphumidors.com?

Thanks for the info! I'll wait to see if I get any more crap before I try contacting them...
physiognomy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
cheaphumidorscom , spam

Go Back   Puff Cigar Discussion Forums > The Cigar Lounges at Puff > General Cigar Discussion

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On





All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:51 PM.


© 2009 by Puff Enterprises. All rights reserved. Puff Cluster hosted by Hostway.
Terms of Service - Privacy Policy