Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

Good day from Holland!

This is a discussion on Good day from Holland! within the New Piper Fish Forum forums, part of the Pipe Smokers Forums category; Hello everyone, As you might've read in the topic title, I'm from Holland and just wanted to drop in and ...

Newbie in the ocean

Good day from Holland!

Hello everyone,

As you might've read in the topic title, I'm from Holland and just wanted to drop in and say hello to everyone!
    I'm new to pipe smoking... as to say I haven't had the pleasure to try it even once! So, I figured this would be the best place to get started and learn alot. I'm not new to smoking in general though. I have been smoking hookah for about 3 years now.

Of course I would like to start off good and I have watched some video's on YouTube, and read some stuff about pipe smoking, but I do have some questions regarding the topic.
    First off, how does smoking a pipe compare to smoking a hookah in terms of taste? I know that pipe tobacco tastes better then let's say cigarettes, but the taste of hookah tobacco is fairly sweet, which I most definitely like. Is there an equivalent (sweet) tobacco kind I could start out with?
    Secondly, I want to start out with a good pipe, but I'm rather on a low budget. From the hookah community I can remember heated discussions about what hookah brand to use. In the end it would boil down to the fact that it didn't really matter that much. Is the same true for pipe smoking, and if so, could you recommend a pipe which I could start out with?
    I'm really excited to get my hands on some good tobacco and a nice pipe, so I would like to say thank you in advance, since you already (by reading the other topics) seem like a close and friendly community!

Re: Good day from Holland!

Welcome to Puff!!