Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

New From North Florida

This is a discussion on New From North Florida within the New Piper Fish Forum forums, part of the Pipe Smokers Forums category; Greetings from Florida! I am very new to pipe smoking. A friend gave me a corn cob pipe he made ...

Newbie in the ocean

New From North Florida

Greetings from Florida!

I am very new to pipe smoking. A friend gave me a corn cob pipe he made about 2-3 months ago and I have given it a few tries, receiving a burned tongue each time. I am now doing some reading before making my first purchase of a pipe and some different tobacco.

I have been a cigar smoker for about 15 years and enjoy 1-2 per week. I usually wait until I can get together with a friend because that is more enjoyable for me. I am hoping that the pipe will be a little easier to smoke alone to relax with for shorter periods of time in the afternoon or evening.

I've learned a lot from the forums here and am looking forward to learning more.

Thanks again!

Re: New From North Florida

Welcome to the gang, Bill! It's a fun place to hang.
    ********.com

Welcome to puff!

Lots of folks here moved from cigars to pipes for some of the very reasons you mention - you'll be in good company here.
    Pro Patria Vigilans................... My tobacco cellar

Welcome to Puff!! As a starter tobacco, try some English blend tobacco. Less likely to bite your tongue. Even try to dry the tobacco you have out a little. For me anyways, drier tobacco seems less likely to bite.

Only occasionally, do I smoke aromatic tobacco as it almost always seems to bite.
    I don't always drink beer,,,
    OK, yes I do

Welcome to Puff! So many great threads with great info.

Welcome!