Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

Hello from Denver!

This is a discussion on Hello from Denver! within the New Piper Fish Forum forums, part of the Pipe Smokers Forums category; Hello, Pipers! I'm new to smoking, new to pipes, and new to this forum. Couch_Incident is a friend of mine ...

Hello from Denver!

Hello, Pipers!

I'm new to smoking, new to pipes, and new to this forum. Couch_Incident is a friend of mine from a totally unrelated forum, and suggested I check it out.

I grew up among teetotalers - no drinking, no smoking, and I don't think I ever saw my parents dance, although that wasn't strictly forbidden. I also grew up thinking that my paternal grandfather (a smoker) had died of lung cancer, and when my father (not a smoker, but grew up around it) likewise died of a lung ailment (pulmonary fibrosis), I resolved to make sure I kept my lungs in good shape. Not that they were in bad shape - I was in marching band all through high school, rode my bicycle everywhere while in college, and continue to ride and do cardio at the gym during the sloppy season.

But then I found out that my grandfather had actually died of a heart attack. Still could be related - but when I found out that pipe smoking (and cigar smoking) don't necessarily involve actual inhaling, I got a little curious. A friend of mine picked up a pipe while we were doing a writing retreat, and it was really quite nice to sit out on the porch while he puffed away. So I went and did some homework, and then bought a Bjarne Viking Classic sitter and some tobacco (aromatic house blend from the store I bought the pipe at).