Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

Rocky Patel Cargo Review

This is a discussion on Rocky Patel Cargo Review within the Non-Habanos Reviews forums, part of the General Cigar Discussion category; ...

Evolving Lead Puffer Fish Just1ce's Avatar

Rocky Patel Cargo Review

Well, this will be my first cigar review…EVER! I have been smoking cigars and loving it for about 2 years now. I don’t have the most developed palate, and I am not always able to pick out the difference between black pepper and white pepper, or an African vs. European swallow, but I know what I like. I’m a pretty “frugal” (polite speak for cheap) guy so I am always on the lookout for a low priced but highly enjoyable cigar. I have been quite successful at times, finding cigars that I really enjoy for couch change. Other times I have found myself wishing I had been chewing a 9 volt battery with some steel wool instead of smoking the latest offering from whoever happens to be whoring out $20 bundles.
    Anyway, enough babbling and on to the cigar. Since I like budget priced cigars, my first review is on the Rocky Patel Cargo super toro. This thing is quite large at 6 inches by a 58 RG. I am extremely surprised at how little this fat cigar weighs.

Famous-smoke.com advertises the cargo as:

“Cargo By Rocky Patel cigars are just the ticket if you want a high-quality, full-flavored cigar for under $5. Produced at Rocky Patel's Nicaraguan factory, Cargo uses a medium bodied, Nicaraguan longfiller blend spiked with robust short-filler scraps from Rocky's 1961 & 15th Anniversary cigars. A double binder is used to ensure an evenly-packed bunch, then they're rolled in Ecuadorian Connecticut wrappers. The smoke is creamy, well balanced, and earthy with a notes of sweet wood and espresso.”