Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

La Palina Mr. Sam - Noob Reviewer

This is a discussion on La Palina Mr. Sam - Noob Reviewer within the Non-Habanos Reviews forums, part of the General Cigar Discussion category; Hey guys, this is just a quick review on the new Mr. Sam that debuted at IPCPR this year... Just ...

La Palina Mr. Sam - Noob Reviewer

Hey guys, this is just a quick review on the new Mr. Sam that debuted at IPCPR this year... Just a few ROTT notes.

Size: 4.75x54 Robusto
    Availability: 850 boxes of 10 produced
    Wrapper: Ecuadorian
    Filler: Nicaraguan
    My price: $10

So this is just for anyone who was thinking about picking one of these up (or two boxes in my case) and is curious about it. Me personally, I'm no pro, and this is my first review so I'll just add some general notes.

Construction: very solid, smooth with some veins in the wrapper, good consistent color. I love the precision in the triple cap.

Cold draw: Again I'm not too good with flavors, but this one is definitely a little more bold than the Goldie 2 and 5, I cut just above the 1st cap and it has a pretty open draw, I like it.

Aroma: Definitely picking up earthiness on this one, probably some cedar and leather.

1st 3rd: Yep, the 1st third definitely reflects the initial thoughts. Definitely more mild-full than the Goldies, and even a bit more than the Little Bill. Good bit of earthiness with a bit of pepper on the back of the palette.

2nd 3rd: Starting to smooth out some as far as flavor boldness, still getting the same flavor profile but it has backed off on the power. I think this will be good after it readjusts RH