Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tamping theories

This is a discussion on Tamping theories within the The Pipe Hobby How-To Discussion Forum forums, part of the Pipe Smokers Forums category; I've been smoking a pipe for a few months and I'm loving it so far. I've got a few questions ...

Maturing Puffer Fish Pipe Pastor's Avatar

Tamping theories

I've been smoking a pipe for a few months and I'm loving it so far.

I've got a few questions about tamping the ash. Tamping should be done lightly, but how often?

Also when I tamp I get a pretty much level, flat white ash. Too much tamping or is this right?

Disillusioned Freethinker AStateJB's Avatar

Re: Tamping theories

I tamp for a couple reasons... If I'm having trouble keeping my pipe lit i will tamp lightly to push the burning baccy down into the unburned a little. And I tamp if the draw becomes too light. It's basically just whatever works best for you, your pipe, and your baccy...
    Hangin' out with Friends

How often? I dunno. Remember why we tamp. Fire always wants to burn up, but we want our pipe to burn down. Tamping is done to keep the coal pushed down on unburned tobacco to keep things burning. I tamp when I notice the smoke getting a little thinner. Just like you would use a poker in your fireplace if the fire starts dying. As Josh mentioned, I also use my tamper to tighten up the draw a bit if it gets too loose.

Tamping is another one of those pipe things that you just have to learn by feel as you go. Experiment and find what works for you. If you're enjoying yourself, you're doing it right

Quote Originally Posted by gahdzila View Post