Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

John Patton's Storm Front

This is a discussion on John Patton's Storm Front within the Pipe Related Reviews forums, part of the Pipe Smokers Forums category; Description as found on the 4Noggins site: Two cube cut burleys combined with cigar leaf. Meaty,sweet, and smokey. This might ...

John Patton's Storm Front

Description as found on the 4Noggins site:

Two cube cut burleys combined with cigar leaf. Meaty,sweet, and smokey. This might be John's favorite blend yet!!
    First, I should say that I'm still very new to pipe smoking. I've sampled a small number of "English" blends, a few aromatics, a few Virginia, VaPers and one or two Va/Burley/Perique blends. I've also gone through a few ounces of Prince Albert and like it quite a bit for its simple, nutty flavor and volumes of smoke.

So, when I ordered a few 4oz of bags from 4Noggins this is one of the ones that made it in. It is currently rated 4/4 on tobaccoreviews.com with 8 reviews and 5/5 on the 4Noggins site with 14 reviews. I figured it couldn't be horrible, right?

Well, I was not disappointed. It arrived with a perfect moisture level (fairly dry, just right for this blend). The smell directly from the bag is a bit sweet, perhaps roasted nuts and dried berries.

The cut is just as the description says, fairly large "cubes" that looks more like 3/16"x3/16" flakes and is very uniform. It loads easily with a simple scoop and tamp although I use the "Frank" method if I want a full bowl. It lights easily and usually doesn't need the first charring light. I'm not the most skilled pipe smoker so re-lights are required on occasion. Just like Prince Albert this produces volumes of smoke, although it is more tasty than PA.