Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

STOCK MARKET anyone?

This is a discussion on STOCK MARKET anyone? within the Puff Banter forums, part of the Everything But Cigars category; hey folks was wondering if anyone here invest or has any tips on investing. trying to learn that field too....

Young Fish

STOCK MARKET anyone?

hey folks

was wondering if anyone here invest or has any tips on investing. trying to learn that field too.

Re: STOCK MARKET anyone?

As a former Stock Broker, I would say that you should take your time. Don't be in a hurry to jump into the first recommendation that you receive. There are a lot of great brokers out there, but just as many terrible ones so shop around if you are going to use a broker. They can keep you from making big mistakes or they can throw you under the bus for a commission so be careful. You could also educate yourself and skip the broker. If you go that rout, read lots of books from different perspectives. In my experience most financial writers are selling something. A lot of them write books to legitimize their expensive seminars and as such they are just glorified advertising. To sum it up; be educated, be skeptical, don't buy into the fast profit promised by some people. If I seem to be negative about the financial services industry, then I've gotten my message across. When I first started, the industry at least pretended to care about clients. Now they seem to care about shareholder profits before small investors. That's not to say that you shouldn't invest. Just be careful.
    I believe in courtesy, the ritual by which we avoid hurting other people's feelings by satisfying our own egos. Kenneth Clark

Young Fish

Quote Originally Posted by DarrelMorris View Post