Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

need help with sony laptop speakers

This is a discussion on need help with sony laptop speakers within the Tech Corner forums, part of the Everything But Cigars category; First of all let me say that I am an Tech idiot, so bear that in mind while trying to ...

Elder Puffer Fish Leader teedles915's Avatar

need help with sony laptop speakers

First of all let me say that I am an Tech idiot, so bear that in mind while trying to help.

I have a sony viao laptop. I have probably had it for a year and a half or so. Heres the problem....

The speakers only work part of the time. Seems like 75% of the time they do not work. On occasions they will start working out of nowhere, and then they quit the same way. But the most popular time that they decide to work is when the computer has just been turned on, or has sat idle long enough to go into "lock" mode and then unlocked.

Any suggestion????? I am sure that there are detials that are needed that I left out. So ask any questions you have, and I will try to answer them.

Re: need help with sony laptop speakers

I'm assuming these are the built-in speakers, and not exteranl wired speakers? It could be a driver issue. What operating system do you have, I'm thinking Windows Vista. I don't have access to a Vista machine, but theses instructions should be close. Go to START, CONTROL PANEL, AUDIO DEVICE, then tab over to HARDWARE. You should be able to double click the driver and choose update. You'll need to be connected to the internet though. Or you can go to the Sony support page Sony eSupport - Computers & Peripherals - Select Your Model navigate through the model # and questions and locate "Audio" drivers, and update it that way.

This would be the first thing I would do, if it doesn't work we can try other things.

Adam