Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
MEMBER CIGAR REVIEWS | STAFF CIGAR REVIEWS | CIGAR VIDEOS | ONE ON ONE INTERVIEWS | CIGAR NEWS | CIGAR FORUMS | PIPES | LIFESTYLE | CONTACT

User Tag List

Windows 7 help needed

This is a discussion on Windows 7 help needed within the Tech Corner forums, part of the Everything But Cigars category; I am running a copy of 7 & after about 5 months of everything going fine, now my background is ...

Evolving Lead Puffer Fish ARCHAIC's Avatar

Windows 7 help needed

I am running a copy of 7 & after about 5 months of everything going fine, now my background is black & whenever I change it then restart my comp it goes back to black. Also every hour or so a window pops up to inform me that windows is not genuine & to go online & get genuine. Other than that it still works fine. I know that the pop up window is not a virus, so that would not be the problem. Any ideas?
    No, i will not tell you how much my stash is worh or how much i spend on cigars!

Evolving Lead Puffer Fish Aficionado82's Avatar

Re: Windows 7 help needed

Sounds like your copy on Windows is not genuine. If you recently updated windows, and the copy you are running is not legit, it has been detected and some features get turned off in order to annoy you to the point where you go out and get a legit copy.
    Last edited by Aficionado82; 07-07-2010 at 11:52 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Aficionado82 View Post
    Sounds like your copy on Windows is not genuine. If you recently updated windows, and the copy you are running in not legit, it has been detected and some features get turned off in order to annoy you to the point where you go out and get a legit copy.
    It is not genuine, nothing bad shuld happen tho, right? As long as it stays annoying as is I am ok with that.
    No, i will not tell you how much my stash is worh or how much i spend on cigars!

I have been running a non legit version of XP for a few years now. No issues yet except for the lack of background.