Xikar Crystal Humidifier Jar Question [Archive] - Puff Cigar Discussion Forums

: Xikar Crystal Humidifier Jar Question

Tarks
03-08-2009, 07:41 PM
Hi all,

I paid a visit to my local tobacconist last week to purchase the Xikar crystal product for my 150 ct humidor (That is currently full). The fellow that was working told me that I would need to purchase three jars for my humidor. I'm no expert, but three jars sounded a bit much so I decided to only purchased two. Besides, I don't have room for 3. When I got home I went to the Xikar website and found the following information.

Crystal Humidifier Jar:

Slow, steady release of constant Humidity of 70%
Lasts up to 90 days before re-fill
Regulates humidity for up to 150 cigars
Safe, effective, and very easy to use!
Just unscrew the top and place in your humidor!
Re-fill with our pre-mixed PG solution
My questions are:

1) Was the guy at the tobacoonist full of it, trying to over sell the product or was he correct to tell me that I would need three jars?

2) My humidor has been sitting for two full days with the Xikar product and is at 75% RH. Will two jars last longer than one or should I remove one of the jars? Common sense tells me to keep them both in the humidor but expert advise would be reassuring.

Thanks.

MKR160
03-08-2009, 08:04 PM
I currently have a Savoy 100ct humidor that is full. In it I have a Puck 65%-100ct, and 2 Xikar Jars. I keep the jars in there for the winter months as it gets dry here in the Northeast in the winters. I usually take one of them out in the summer. Hope this helps.

docruger
03-08-2009, 08:30 PM
sounds good but i dont have ant trouble with using the old 50/50 in mine

Tarks
03-08-2009, 08:33 PM
sounds good but i dont have ant trouble with using the old 50/50 in mine

So, might be a dumb question but here it goes. When my Xikar jars run out can I just fill them with 50/50 solution rather than purchasing the refills from Xikar? Would this be the same?

XIKAR
03-09-2009, 12:24 PM