Adding TEC to Closet - Puff Cigar Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-17-2011, 04:20 PM Thread Starter
Young Puffer Fish

Adding TEC to Closet

Hi Guys,

I am thinking of adding TEC to my closet where I have a few of my desktop humidors and a cabinet humidor from Bob that does not have temp control.

I initially wanted to add TEC to the actual cabinets from Bob. I decided not to because this is my first time trying this and I don't want to destroy Bob's work of arts. I would rather change the closet door if I mess up.

Size of closet 44 X 74 X 23inches

I am either going to mount the unit at the top/middle of closet door or on the left wall, also top/middle. Those are the only two places where it is open air.

I am going to get advice on what to buy, then I have to calculate how many unit(s) of the peltier I need.

Just wanted to go over a list of things that I need.

1. Peltier
2. Thermometer to control temp
3. Power Supply
4. Insulation/seal

Peltier
I have just started looking around for a ready-made peltier assembly and with the help of fellow puffers I came up with the following choices.
1. TheroElectricSupplier Thermoelectric Supplier.com :: Kits and Sub-Assemblies $90
2. EIC - ThermoTEC™ Series - 400 BTU (DC) Solid State Air Conditioner | Electronic Cabinet Cooler - 400 BTU (DC) - EIC $1,000 depending on options
3. SUPERCOOL,( Manufactuer) (TEC) from ebay - $250 Supercool - TEC Thermoelectric Cooler/Heat Peltier -NEW | eBay

Thermometer to control temp
1. Saw a lot of people using Ranco, but don’t know which model and where to buy.
2. From China Temperature Controller of Thermoelectric Cooler Peltier - eBay (item 270606035375 end time May-07-11 03:55:04 PDT) $50
3. TheroElectricSupplier – (advance version) Thermoelectric Supplier.com :: Temperature Sensor-Display-Control Circuits $52

Power supply
TheroElectricSupplier – 110-240V 12V 6amps Thermoelectric Supplier.com :: Power Supplies $22
????

Insulation/Door seal
?????