How hard is it to build your own humidor? - Puff Cigar Discussion Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-21-2011, 08:28 AM Thread Starter
Puffer Fish with some spikes

How hard is it to build your own humidor?

I want to build a humidor, I went to school for Carpentry and I do it for a living, so I have an idea of what to do. But I'm going to have my Dads friend help me because he's more into woodworking and he smokes pipes. But my Dad says he can carve stuff and all that so I'd like to carve something cool into it. I know its good to use Spanish Cedar.. But other than that, what goes into it?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 10 Old 08-21-2011, 09:48 AM
Badass Honey Squid

Re: How hard is it to build your own humidor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Texasflood513 View Post
But other than that, what goes into it?
Cigars mostly, but you'll also want humidity control of some sort, more cigars, a thermometer and hygrometer likely and even more cigars.

Ok, now the non-smartass answer. It's as difficult as you want it to be. If you want some extravagant box, it'll take some work. If you want a rectangle with 6 sides to hold some cigars and nothing more, it'll be a walk in the park. Find a wood you like and a grain pattern that you like, assemble the thing and put a good coating of lacquer on it.

Make sure the seal on it fits tightly. A box with a tight seal feels good. Nobody wants a box with a loose seal.

Most people here go the wine chiller or cooler route because they are cheap and easy. A good looking humidor made from a good looking wood will be a conversation piece for quite some time though.

I probably didn't answer your question, so to sum it up, it's not difficult to BYO if you know some basic woodworking and understand how a humidor works in regards to the cedar.
post #3 of 10 Old 08-21-2011, 11:00 AM
Pipe Carver