• 1 Post By Mark in wi
  • 3 Post By OneStrangeOne
  • 1 Post By UBC03
  • 1 Post By Mark in wi

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-07-2018, 12:16 AM Thread Starter
Full grown Puffer Fish

How to clean a meerschaum pipe?

I'm venturing over from the cigar side where I'm a noob there too. I have an old meerschaum pipe that I bought 30 years ago when I was doing the "buckskin rendezvous" thing with my scout leader. Be nice now; back then I just stored my pipe in the pack of Captin Black gold that I had. As I got older and my 'skinnin stuff got set aside in the basement I kinda forgot about it. I took a look at it the other day and the tobacco was a little fuzzy and I'm not sure if I can safely clean the pipe. I'm not an everyday puffer, more like the once in awhile type. But I thought my pipe might be nice for those times after work when time is short but I still want to relax. That's when I thought it would be nice to break out the old pipe and try it again. I didn't spend much time looking at the pipe just knew it had a little fuzzy stuff in it and it was made in England. Is it possible to save it without going overboard?
Thanks,
Mark

Grumpy...It's not just an attitude, it's a way of life!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 9 Old 09-07-2018, 12:22 AM
Elder Puffer Fish Leader

I'm no expert on meerschaum but you could probably clean it with water and maybe even dish detergent and water until you're happy that it's really clean. Let it dry. Then smoke it.
post #3 of 9 Old 09-07-2018, 12:38 AM
Puffer Fish with many spikes

Lightly clean/ream it out, if you have any alcoholic beverages, put some on a Qtip and swab out the bowl. Next, clean the stem and shank with same alcohol on a few pipe cleaners. Careful not to get any on the bowl, meers are typically are coated in beeswax and it can become blotchy when warm. Smoke it.

“It’s just gone eight o’clock and time for the penguin on top of your television set to explode.”