Do You Hike or Backpack? - Puff Cigar Discussion Forums
 15Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 07-31-2018, 01:13 PM Thread Starter
Leading Puffer Fish

Do You Hike or Backpack?

Any backpackers on the forum? Iíve hiked all my life, all over the country but I have never backpacked, just long day hikes (up to 20 miles)

Iíve been wanting to go on a nice backpacking trip for a while. To me, whatever is worth doing is worth overdoing so earlier this year, I committed to hiking a 75 mile section of the Pacific Crest Trail (16,000+ ft elevation). The trip is at the end of August and Iíve been training very hard for months.

While Iíve trained a lot, have done a ton of research, and am generally an experienced hiker, I am total noob in backpacking so words of wisdom would be appreciated. I am stocked about the trip and am looking forward to some good cigars at the end of each day.

Do you hike or backpack? Have cool stories or pictures to share?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I may be drunk, Miss, but in the morning I will be sober and you will still be ugly.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 Old 07-31-2018, 06:09 PM
Got bumps on my ash!

Cool endeavour John! I used to do some moderate hiking back before my injury when I was a photographer. Professionally I was a portrait photog, but as a hobby I loved to do nature and landscapes. My favorites were waterfalls and I've hike some expert lvl trails and rock ledges to get to them, but I've never done anything like you've described; all of mine were day trips.
I really hope you have a great time when you head out; it sounds like an awesome adventure.

"I probably could have been a rocket surgeon or brain scientists." Rondo 2019
post #3 of 12 Old 07-31-2018, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
Leading Puffer Fish

Quote:
Originally Posted by LeatherNeck View Post